Now That I Have My Life Back

Lifted. That’s exactly how I’d describe how I feel right now. Since a couple major obligations in my life have been fulfilled I can breathe again. I’ll be holding onto this relief for a long, long, time! Besides working full-time, preparing curriculum and then instructing a leadership seminar as well as enduring a statistics course in the most critical time of the semester (finals), I was also trying to have a life. I did not succeed.

Lesson learned. Life isn’t what it used to be. I’m far from old (even though I call myself an old soul), but I don’t have nearly as much energy as I did as an undergrad. Maybe because I lived off of Red Bull and large packets of Starburst jelly beans. Yes, they make jelly beans, they’re super delish!

My ambition these past couple of weeks allowed me to learn more about myself and what I can produce when I’m focused and present. I tend to involve myself in several activities so I can never create an opportunity to befriend idleness. However, I lack the forthright to understand the value in rest and prioritizing for the sake of just being present. I say that because it’s not enough to show face. That’s not present. In your most physical state you may be able to make your presence known by your being but it will take actual presence to breed success.

Leave a Reply

