No Headphones

I promise you there’s nothing peaceful about a rumbling RIPTA bus. However, when you add your most reliable headphones or favorite novel to the equation, a rumbling RIPTA bus isn’t that bad at all. I wish I could say that I’m experiencing that right now as I commute to South Kingstown, but that’s not the case.

I planned it out so well. Ride my bike to downtown and finish up some busy work during the commute. Didn’t work out that way. As much as I’d like to believe I’m a very detailed oriented person there is an array of intricate information that I miss easily everyday. That being, actually needing the book to get the busy work done.

This leaves me with the occasional glances of those around me, but that usually gets awkward after the coincidental eye catching with your neighbor. Then you’re overcome with insecurity and thoughts of whether they regard you as a creep — so I try not to look around too often. Then there’s the looking out the window, which usually works out fine but it can get old real quick depending on what your imagination is into for the day.

Thankfully I have this WordPress app and I can pretend that I’m so business savvy and I’m so focused on an email to my company partners preparing to close some big deal. Wish I could be more descriptive but I don’t know much about the finance sector at all. Allow me to digress for a moment. That’s actually one of my goals, to become more knowledgeable of all things Wall Street. But anyway, this app is wondrous for times like this. Still wish I had my headphones though. My bus driver must be in his last days of a cold and spews mucous out of his window every ten minutes or so. Gross, I know.

We’re back to the rumbling. Now this has me thinking about the list of books that I need to finish this summer! I borrowed a book that’s a collective history of the ‘Divine Nine’ historically black fraternities and sororities. I started it last month and it was really interesting. Unfortunately I was consumed these past few weeks or maybe I’m excusing myself for my lack of reading. Maybe this will be my amazing grace for future commutes.

Almost there. The rumbling will stop soon and I’ll be off to work and back in my zone. I must say, it wasn’t that bad after all. Looks like I’ve just added another means for a peaceful ride to the list. Thank you writing.

Leave a Reply

