Profound Postmail

Received a letter from my dad in the mail a few weeks ago. I feel like a horrible daughter because it took me weeks to just sit and read it. As much as I’d like to believe my reasoning for hesitating that particular read should be justified, I know it was based on my own selfishness. I have a lot of growing to do and just work to do when it comes to relationship building with my sometimes hard to admit patriarchal figure. Regardless of those hard to manipulate feelings, the letter he sent me was pretty profound. Genuine expressions cannot be concealed and we should rejoice when we experience it. So sharing it will be my form of acknowledgement.

Change is uncomfortable, hard, and demanding. It will take you out of your comfort zone. So before you make any big decisions, stop and delay. Delay does not mean your scared, stupid, or weak; it means taking time to decipher the act or situation. And remember the delay is not for the other person, it is for you. Remember life is 10% of what happens, and 90% of how you respond or deal with the situation. So choose carefully which path your life takes, once you choose, your choices will control you. The choices we made yesterday determine who we will be tomorrow. We are free up to the point of choice, then the choice controls the chooser. You know Renee, there are things we have done in our past that has left a stain on us. This does not diminish our self value or self worth. It is like a well, you have to go inside yourself and find your worth. — Booker Tyrone, 04/11/2012

Leave a Reply

